Tomb of Minh Mang

Perhaps the most majestic of the Royal Tombs is that of Minh Mang, who ruled from 1820 to 1840. The construction of this tomb commenced in 1840 and was completed in 1843. Known for the harmonious blending of its architecture with the natural surroundings, the tomb was planned during Minh Mang's lifetime and built between 1841 and 1843 by his successor.

In January 1841, Emperor Minh Mang passed away when his tomb was still under construction. His successor, Emperor Thieu Tri carried on the construction one month after his coronation, following exactly the layout of his father. On August 8, 1841 the remains of Emperor Minh Mang was officially buried in Buu Thanh (the Imperial Sepulchre), but the tomb construction was not completed until early 1843.

Within the area enclosed by La Thanh Wall (1,750 m), there is a complex of palaces, pavilions and buildings symmetrically arranged along the 700m Holy Axis or Than Dao, which stretches from Dai Hong Mon (Great Red Gate) to the La Thanh wall, beyond the Emperor’s grave. The buildings are intermingled with lotus ponds and pine-covered hills.

Hien Duc Gate opens the way to the main temple area. Sung An Temple lies in the middle and is considered to be the centre of the Ta Phoi and Huu Phoi temples, the Ta Tung Phong and Huu Tung Phong Pavilions.

The majestic and grandiose features of the architecture, blended with the charming surroundings, reflect a strict personality, a scholarly mind and the romantic spirit of the Emperor.
 

 
Print |   Share
---